Art Quote

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

hectic

Life for me has been hectic, which is why my blog has sucked lately.

I'm working two jobs and going to school, so finding time to read and blog inbetween is getting harder and harder.

Not to mention my reading time is cut down by the fact that I have to read Ivanhoe for Reading Unlimited. It's a hard book to get into.

So I'm apologizing for the suckiness, and hopefully I'll catch up with some reviews and fun stuff soon.

<3 Chelsie

Saturday, October 10, 2009

About the widget...

Obviously I had the wrong code on my contest post and I apologize.

The widget has been set up correctly, to anyone who may have been interested.

Thanks :)

<3 Chelsie

Thursday, October 8, 2009

Cirque du Freak Vampire's Assistant Movie Giveaway!



THE VAMPIRE’S ASSISTANT

Due in theaters October 23rd

Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant, based on the popular series of books by Darren Shan, is a fantasy-adventure about a teenager who unknowingly breaks a 200-year-old truce between two warring factions of vampires. Pulled into a fantastic life of misunderstood sideshow freaks and grotesque creatures of the night, one teen will vanish from the safety of a boring existence and fulfill his destiny in a place drawn from nightmares.

In Celebration of this movie release...

Two (2) winners will receive:

  • Cirque du Freak book Set (3 titles in one book)
  • Cirque du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant Locker Mirror
What do you have to do?

  • Comment on this post with your choice for your favorite Cirque du Freak t-shirt saying (and don't forget to vote for it in the widget above!)
And that's it! This contest will run until October 23rd, and is open to US residents only.


The Vampire’s Assistant giveaway is open to legal US residents who are at least 13 years of age as of October 1st. Prizing is only available to United States mailing address only. (International readers can enter if they have a friend in the States who can accept their prizes by mail.)

Saturday, October 3, 2009

The President's Daughter by Ellen Emerson White


Title: The President's Daughter

Author: Ellen Emerson White

Summary:

Sixteen-year-old Meghan Powers likes her life just the way it is. She likes living in Massachusetts. She likes her school. And she has plenty of friends. But all that is about to change. Because Meg’s mother, one of the most prestigious senators in the country, is running for President. And she’s going to win.

Rating: 4/5

Review:

My school librarian highly recommended this book and the rest of the series, so I decided to check it out and see for myself.

I'll admit, this isn't the sort of thing I usually read. I may or may not have picked this up without the recommendation, but either way I'm glad I did get the chance to read it. There is such a great message to it.

The book, as anyone could guess, is about a girl whose mother runs for president, and wins. This is an interesting point itself, obviously for the simple fact that we haven't had a female president. One may think that if we did get a female president in the future, this book would be pretty pointless. However, I think it's pretty timeless and focuses more on relationships between characters than on the politics and presidency.

I believe that anybody could relate to this book in some way. Maybe your parent(s) aren't around as much as you'd like, or you feel like you're always in someone else's shadow and not your own person. Either way, I love the interactions between the main character, Meg, and the rest of her family. She is a teenager, who wants to be a normal teenager, but who is trapped in her life of being the president's daughter. Throughout the book, you can't help but feel for her. She is such an interesting and decent person, despite the teenager-like things she does.

That being said, I liked the book. The best part, for me, as I've mentioned several times, is the characters. Their development throughout the book and also the way they function together. This is a family book through and through, and I really enjoyed it.

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday- 9/30/09

WoW started here.

The Naughty List
by Suzanne Young
Release Date: Feb 4, 2010

As if being a purrfect cheerleader isn’t enough responsibility! Tessa Crimson’s the sweet and spunky leader of the SOS (Society of Smitten Kittens), a cheer squad–turned–spy society dedicated to bringing dastardly boyfriends to justice, one cheater at a time. Boyfriend-busting wouldn’t be so bad . . . except that so far, every suspect on the Naughty List has been proven 100% guilty!

When Tessa’s own boyfriend shows up on the List, she turns her sleuthing skills on him. Is Aiden just as naughty as all the rest, or will Tessa’s sneaky ways end in catastrophe?

The Naughty List. Is your boyfriend on it?

This book sounds absolutely hilarious and I can't help but want to read it... who could resist?!

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover by Ally Carter


Title: Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover

Author: Ally Carter

Summary:

When Cammie "The Chameleon" Morgan visits her roommate Macey in Boston, she thinks she's in for an exciting end to her summer break. After all, she's there to watch Macey's father accept the nomination for vice president of the United States. But when you go to the world's best school (for spies), "exciting" and "deadly" are never far apart. Cammie and Macey soon find themselves trapped in a kidnappers' plot, with only their espionage skills to save them.

As her junior year begins, Cammie can't shake the memory of what happened in Boston, and even the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women doesn't feel like the safe haven it once did. Shocking secrets and old flames seem to lurk around every one of the mansion's corners as Cammie and her friends struggle to answer the questions, Who is after Macey? And how can the Gallagher Girls keep her safe?

Soon Cammie is joining Bex and Liz as Macey's private security team on the campaign trail. The girls must use their spy training at every turn as the stakes are raised, and Cammie gets closer and closer to the shocking truth..

Rating: 4/5

Review:

The Gallagher Girls series has always been one of my favorite series to read. It is always so interesting and unique, and always hilarious. Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover was no exception.

In this book, the girls are faced with a kidnapping threat, and it makes everyone uneasy. Cam is her usual self, breaking rules and always trying to get things done. That's my favorite thing about this book: it's fast-paced and funny. Cam and her friends are wonderful characters; for the most part they are unique and interesting and always saying or doing things that make you want to crack up.

These books are hilarious and fun; not serious, but still dealing with enough issues that they aren't all fluff. I would definitely recommend them if you are looking for something light and easy to read.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday- 9/23/09

WoW started here.

Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood
by Eileen Cook

Release Date: January 5, 2010
Popularity is the best revenge.

In the final weeks of eighth grade, Lauren Wood made a choice. She betrayed her best friend, Helen, in a manner so publicly humiliating that Helen had to move to a new town just to save face. Ditching Helen was worth it, though, because Lauren started high school as one of the It Girls--and now, at the start of her senior year, she's the cheerleading captain, the quarterback's girlfriend, and the undisputed queen bee. Lauren has everything she's ever wanted, and she has forgotten all about her ex-best friend.

But Helen could never forget Lauren. After three years of obsessing, she's moving back to her old town. She has a new name and a new look, but she hasn't dropped her old grudges. She has a detailed plan to bring down her former BFF by taking away everything that's ever been important to Lauren—starting with her boyfriend.

Watch out, Lauren Wood. Things are about to get bitchy.

Even though I wasn't entirely pleased with What Would Emma Do?, I want to explore more from Eileen Cook... and it looks like this is a good book to try out :)

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Crashed and Chasing Fire



This week, I have been reading...

Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover by Ally Carter, which was amazing. This series is fantastic.

Now I am in the middle of The President's Daughter by Ellen Emerson White. It was recommended to me by my school librarian and I like it so far.

Next: Crashed by Robin Wasserman and Chasing Fire by Suzanne Collins. So excited!

Monday, September 21, 2009

The Private Series by Kate Brian

Recently I finished Paradise Lost, and I have to say that it's really difficult to review books like this; that is, ones that are part of a very long series. The books are hard to think of as one. They all connect together and create one story.
That being said, I have to say that I love the Private series. I wish I could review each book separately, but it would be impossible. Each book has it's own perks and happenings that make them so interesting and special that I couldn't take the time to write a thoughtful and in-depth review. Also, they just aren't those kinds of books.

I'd like to say that the reason I won't review them all separate is because they are all "the same" but that would come out the wrong way. They aren't the same, but the way they are set up and written are entirely similar, and chances are that if you like the first one you will enjoy the rest of the series. At least, that's how it was in my case.

That being said, the Private series is definitely a wonderful series, especially if you're looking for something that will keep you on your seat and constantly interested.

And the Winners Are...

The winners of the huge Maximum Ride promotion are....

Amy and Paradox!

Email me at bookluverreviews@hotmail.com with your address and the books will be sent out asap!

<3 Chelsie

About Me

My Photo
Obsessive Blogger. Obsessive Reader.